Country name: Republic of Hungary (local: Magyar Koztarsasag).

Capital: Budapest.

Government type: parliamentary democracy.

Independence: 1001 (unification by King Stephen I).

Constitution: 18 August 1949, effective 20 August 1949, revised 19 April 1972; 18 October 1989 revision ensured legal rights for individuals and constitutional checks on the authority of the prime minister and also established the principle of parliamentary oversight; 1997 amendment streamlined the judicial system.

Administrative divisions: 19 counties (megyek, singular - megye), 20 urban counties (singular - megyei varos), and 1 capital city (fovaros).

Counties: Bacs-Kiskun, Baranya, Bekes, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen, Csongrad, Fejer, Gyor-Moson-Sopron, Hajdu-Bihar, Heves, Jasz-Nagykun-Szolnok, Komarom-Esztergom, Nograd, Pest, Somogy, Szabolcs-Szatmar-Bereg, Tolna, Vas, Veszprem, Zala.

Urban counties: Bekescsaba, Debrecen, Dunaujvaros, Eger, Gyor, Hodmezovasarhely, Kaposvar, Kecskemet, Miskolc, Nagykanizsa, Nyiregyhaza, Pecs, Sopron, Szeged, Szekesfehervar, Szolnok, Szombathely, Tatabanya, Veszprem, Zalaegerszeg.

Capital city: Budapest.

Terrain: mostly flat to rolling plains; hills and low mountains on the Slovakian border.

Natural hazards: destructive earthquakes.

Total area: 93,030 km˛.

Highest point: Kekes 1,014 m.

Climate: temperate; cold, cloudy, humid winters; warm summers.

Ports and harbors: Budapest, Dunaujvaros, Gyor-Gonyu, Csepel, Baja, Mohacs.



Population: 9.8 million (July 2018).

Religions: Roman Catholic 37.2%, Calvinist 11.6%, Lutheran 2.2%, Greek Catholic 1.8%, other 1.9%, none 18.2%, unspecified 27.2% (2011 est.).

Ethnic groups: Hungarian 85.6%, Romani 3.2%, German 1.9%, other 2.6%, unspecified 14.1% (2011 est.).

Language: Hungarian (official) 99.6%, English 16%, German 11.2%, Russian 1.6%, Romanian 1.3%, French 1.2%, other 4.2% (2011 est.).

Nationality: Hungarian(s).


Budapest, Hungary



Hungary map


Hungary map


Under the leadership of Janos KADAR in 1968, Hungary began liberalizing its economy, introducing so-called "goulash Communism." Hungary held its first multiparty elections in 1990 and initiated a free market economy. It joined NATO in 1999 and the EU in 2004.


Hungary was part of the polyglot Austro-Hungarian Empire, which collapsed during World War I. The country fell under Communist rule following World War II.

In 1956, a revolt and announced withdrawal from the Warsaw Pact were met with a massive military intervention by Moscow.



Main source: CIA - The World Factbook.





Matthias Church, in neo-Gothic style. Budapest.


Chain Bridge over the Danube, in Budapest. It was completed in 1849. In the background, the Baroque Buda Palace.






The Parliament and the Danube river in Budapest, capital of Hungary.



Bridge over the Danube, Budapest

Matthias Church





Copyright © Geographic Guide - European Countries, Travel. Архитектура.