The Antilles are the American islands distributed, in the form of an arc, from the Bahamas and Cuba to Trinidad and Tobago. They are washed by the Caribbean Sea or the Atlantic Ocean. The Island of Cuba is bordered by the Gulf of Mexico, to the northwest. The Caribbean Sea is full of islands, reefs and atolls, some are territories of France, U.S.A., United Kingdom and The Netherlands.

In Antiquity, according to Aristotle, Antilia would be a land that would exist in the Atlantic Sea and that would be known to the Phoenicians. This land could be the Azores, discovered by the Portuguese in the 14th century. Recent archaeological research indicates the possibility of visitors from that period of the Phoenicians.

The Antilles form one of the four parts of America, the other parts are: North America, Central America and South America



Cuba is one of the last communist countries of the world, situated in a tropical archipelago of paradisiacal natural resources. Its economy is mainly based on sugar, tobacco and tourism. After the revolution in 1959, Cuba has received a substantial economic aid from the USSR. Now, the country strives for basic needs for its 11 million people.

Cuba is composed by the main island and about four thousand islets. There are more than 300 beaches of white sands and clear waters, including Varadero, Holguín, Cayo Largo del Sur, Ciego de Ávila and Villa Clara. More: Map of Cuba.


Havana, Cuba

City of Havana, in the north coast of Cuba.


Map Central America






Santa Lucia, Caribbean

Coastline of Santa Lucia, country in a small volcanic island, discovered by Columbus in 1502. A place with uncommon landscapes and beautiful beaches. Saint Lucia gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1979.


Caribbean Map




Terre-de-Haut island as seen from Le Chameau, Guadeloupe.



Guadalupe is an archipelago of nine islands in the Caribbean Sea, with an area of 1,780 square km. It was discovered by Columbus in 1493, during his second voyage. Since 1635, it is a French possession. Guadeloupe has beaches with calm waters and interesting places for diving. Its 435,000 inhabitants lives mainly from the tourism and agriculture. An increasingly great number of cruise ships visit the islands every year.

The main territory of Guadalupe consists of two islands: Basse-Terre and Grande-Terre, separated by a narrow channel. Basse-Terre has a mountain chain, culminating with the volcano La Soufrière, that entered in eruption for the last time in 1976.


South America


About the Geographic Guide - Travel American Continent.


Terre-de-Haut in Guadeloupe


Central America



Caribbean Sea

Caribbean Sea

Crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea.


The Caribbean Sea is enclosed by the Antilles, Central America and South America. It's a tropical region that includes 12 countries and 10 territories, famous for its transparent waters, ideal for diving and other aquatic sports.





Geographic Guide