State of New York



Copyright © Geographic Guide - Travel USA, North America.


United States


State NY


The State of New York was one of original 13 states and it entered the Union on July 26, 1788. Today it consists of 62 counties and 20 million residents (2021). The state capital is Albany, with more than 300 thousand residents, and New York City is the largest city in the state, with 8,5 million residents (2021).

New York has nearly 200 parks, several forest preserves, a variety of national historic sites and monuments, great cultural, political and economic life.


Stock Exchange


Cherry Blossom


The New York Stock Exchange in Lower Manhattan (right).




Winter NYC




New York map


Syracuse University




Map New York


Montauk Point NY


Bridges NYC


State New York




Montauk Point lighthouse, state park at the eastern tip of Long Island.




South Carolina




The New York State Capitol. This carved stone building was constructed between 1867 and 1899, with help from five architects (credit: Discover Albany).


Cherry Blossom Festival, Brooklyn Botanical Garden (credit: Julienne Schaer / NYC & Company).


Churches NY


Buildings in the Syracuse University, established in 1870.


Map State New York 19th century


NY state images




The Cohoes Falls in the Albany County (credit: Discover Albany).


The Empire State Plaza and the New York State Capitol, in the background (credit: Discover Albany).


Rhode Island


Niagara Falls in the New York side, at the border between United States and Canada (Ontario).


Niagara Falls








State of New York


NY symbol